Plexusrecords

By browsing this site, you agree to the use of cookies. for more details

FREE delivery worldwide with 300 € of purchase*

About us

Contact us

Share
Home > Blog > Steve Kuhn

Steve Kuhn

Sometimes disconcerting, sometimes dissonant, he can be off-putting... but impossible to ignore his incredible sensitivity.

Sharing of my personal meeting with Mr. Stephen Lewis Kuhn.

Published on january 20, 2022
by Paul

Steve Kuhn on the back cover "Trance"
© Photo : Odd Geir Sæther

Who is Steve Kuhn?

It was in my early years of learning jazz that I was able to discover Stephen Lewis Kuhn, a renowned pianist from Brooklyn. I can not believe that his name never made it to the top of the billboards of the biggest jazz clubs.

However, he played with the biggest names in the industry: he was notably John Coltrane's sideman in his legendary quartet before being replaced by McCoy Tyner.

Bio et discography

Steve Kuhn was born on March 24, 1938 in New York. Jazz pianist, composer, arranger, conductor or teacher... Steve Kuhn has played alongside the greatest jazzmen: Coltrane, Ron Carter, Steve Swallow, Jack DeJohnette, Pete La Roca, Ornette Coleman, Don Cherry. .. to recite nobody else but them !

Full discography : Discogs.com >

Although well known to aficionados, he is for me the pianist who touched me the most. Both through his playing and through his great talents in composition and experimentation.

Sometimes disconcerting, sometimes dissonant, it can be off-putting. But you won't be able to ignore the incredible sensitivity he shows when his fingers run over his piano.

Steve Kuhn Trio at the Berlin Jazztage (1969).
Signaler un abus de la propriété intellectuelle >

Impossible to summarize here all of his discography: it spans decades, flits between styles and influences. But I would like to share with you some of his unmissable projects that have been alongside different moments of my life.

First date with Steve

My first encounter with the man was browsing through my favorite record store jazz bins... I came across the cover of a live from 1972 recorded in New York: over the course of his improvisations, Kuhn alternates between a Rhodes ( electric piano) and an acoustic piano.

"Steve Kuhn Live in New York" cover, 1972 - Voir les crédits >

Yes, we are talking here about an avant-garde live: certainly linear, but which finds itself systematically propelled towards flights that are both delirious and structured. What hits me the most in this recording is Kuhn himself who punctuates the performance with poems of his own composition, which he places as a gift on the music. These verses, at first sight without logic, are nevertheless real rhythm jewels.

It was at this moment that I realized that Steve Kuhn was an offscreen musician, an outsider who expresses his sensitivity in ways that I had never encountered in a pianist before.

An addiction

My research then quickly led me to another of his albums, released a year earlier on the same label (Buddah Records). Now essential, this eponymous disc is certainly the most popular among collectors. Fortunately, as you read these lines, the Italian label Eating Stranding offers us a deluxe reissue which will appear in a few weeks.

We find here Kuhn in an atmosphere and an approach similar to his live. His voice comes to accompany a powerful game, which borders on trance at times, embroidered with poetry, lyricism and melancholy. A work which for me best reflects the complex soul of the pianist.

"Steve Kuhn" cover, 1971 - Voir les crédits >

In this album, the percussionist Airto Morreira is not missing: he brings a certain mysticism to the project, a unique dimension. The string quartet that accompanies the musicians is also a major pillar of the recording: it appears here as a tribute to the composer and arranger Garry McFarland, who died the same year and with whom Kuhn recorded a few years earlier.

Son album "The October Suite"

Because indeed, before venturing into the meanders of free-jazz, Steve Kuhn traveled in the vast world of classical music, from which he comes above all. He was even behind the creation of the "Virtuoso Series" on the legendary Impulse Records label in 1967.

"The october Suite" cover, 1967 - Voir les crédits >

However, he will remain the only signatory. This unique attempt by the record label to mix jazz and classical elements resulted in one of the most iconic records ever produced by the label (in my humble opinion). It is with a much more elegant and standard approach that we find our pianist... although we can already see the potential of the young prodigy then aged 28! A certain romanticism, expressed in his own way on a unique modal basis (and sometimes suddenly liberated), which he manages to merge brilliantly with McFarland's compositions.

A record that still resonates today, both in its complexity and its modernity, and which cannot be ignored by any jazz lover.

Watch What Happens !

Now let’s move forward a year in his discography. We are still in 1967: Kuhn was then living in Stockholm and almost immediately recording a new project called "Watch What Happens!", this time with a trio formation.

"Watch what happens !"  cover (japanese reedition 2016) - Voir les crédits >

This training allows him to express the full force of his instrument. He imposes himself here with a solo playing that places him in the category of the most sensitive musicians of his generation, not far from his colleague Bill Evans.

Although more classical as a whole, the album is a inventiveness jewel that cannot leave indifferent the listener who meets the pianist for the first time. It is the revealing factor of the precision that Kuhn knows how to demonstrate at all times. He heralds what the artist will become: a renowned soloist who, despite playing the least conventional, remains nonetheless accessible to the widest audience.

Further, higher, bigger

Much of Steve Kuhn's discography was produced on the ECM Records label. We will note in particular his album “Trance” published by the famous German house.

Manfred Eicher, his producer at the time, helped him mature his sound universe and then pushed him towards a wider audience. This maturity will even lead him to record with different voices such as that of Karin Krog (with whom he will share his poems and compositions). Together they go beyond the boundaries of the genre and give us a taste of the well-kept underground of European jazz from the 70s.

"Trance" cover, 1975 - Voir les crédits >

Steve Kuhn will never stop over the years to develop the sound that we associate with his name. Listening to him through his diverse and varied formations, you will not be able to miss the undeniable force that this musician exerts on his colleagues: probably a trait common to the biggest names in Jazz.

Steve Kuhn's story continues today: he regularly performs in public, most often in a trio (group where he excels and where he is best able to express his art). If you ever see his name headlining, it is imperative and non-negotiable to get a ticket.

Let yourself be carried away by Stephen's music, which one day resonated in me as one of the most beautiful revelations that music has been able to offer me to date.

Curious ?
You will love these records

plexus stories

blog

Want to write for the blog ?
Send us your draft !

Secure payment

worldwide delivery 24/48h*

free from 300 € of purchase

a gift for newsletter subscribers

Sign up and receive a - 5% promo code

Customer service

For you

CLICK-AND-COLLECT

Plexusrecords

En naviguant sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des cookies. 

Livraison gratuite en France dès 100 € d'achats*

Qui sommes-nous ?

Nous contacter

Partager
Accueil > Blog > Steve Kuhn

Steve Kuhn

Parfois déconcertant, parfois dissonant, il peut être rebutant... mais impossible d'ignorer son incroyable sensibilité.

Partage de ma rencontre personnelle avec Monsieur Stephen Lewis Kuhn.

Publié le 20 janvier 2022
par Paul

Photo de Steve Kuhn

Steve Kuhn sur l'arrière de la pochette de l'album "Trance"
© Photo : Odd Geir Sæther

Qui est Steve Kuhn ?

C'est dans mes premières années d’initiation au jazz que j’ai pu découvrir Stephen Lewis Kuhn,  pianiste de renom originaire de Brooklyn. Je n’ai jamais pu me faire à l’idée que son nom n’ait jamais été propulsé en haut des affiches des plus grands clubs de jazz.

Il joua pourtant avec les plus grandes pointures du milieu : il fut notamment le sideman de John Coltrane au sein de son mythique quartet avant d’être remplacé par McCoy Tyner.

Bio et discographie

Steve Kuhn est né le 24 mars 1938 à New York.  Pianiste de jazz, compositeur, arrangeur, chef d'orchestre ou encore professeur... Steve Kuhn a joué aux côtés des plus grands jazzmen : Coltrane, Ron Carter, Steve Swallow, Jack DeJohnette, Pete La Roca, Ornette Coleman, Don Cherry... pour ne citer qu'eux !

Discographie complète : Discogs.com >

Bien que fort connu des aficionados, il est pour moi le pianiste qui m’a le plus touché. Tant bien par son jeu, que par ses grands talents de compositions et d’expérimentations.

Parfois déconcertant, parfois dissonant, il peut être rebutant. Mais vous ne pourrez pas ignorer l’incroyable sensibilité dont il fait preuve lorsque ses doigts parcourent les touches de son piano.

Extrait issu d'une prestation du Steve Kuhn Trio au Berlin Jazztage (1969).
Signaler un abus de la propriété intellectuelle >

Impossible de résumer ici la totalité de sa discographie : elle s’étend sur des décennies, voltige entre les styles et les influences. Mais j'aimerais partager avec vous certains de ses projets immanquables qui ont ponctué différents instants de ma vie.

Premier tête à tête avec Steve

Ma première rencontre avec l’homme fut en parcourant les bacs de jazz de mon disquaire... je tombe alors sur la pochette d’un live de 1972 enregistré à New-York : au fil de ses improvisations, Kuhn alterne entre un Rhodes (piano électrique) et un piano acoustique.

Pochette de l'album live

Pochette de l'album "Steve Kuhn Live in New York", 1972 - Voir les crédits >

Car oui, nous parlons bien ici d’un live avant-gardiste : certes linéaire, mais qui se retrouve systématiquement propulsé vers des envolées à la fois délirantes et structurées. Ce qui touche le plus dans cet enregistrement, c’est Kuhn lui même qui ponctue la représentation avec des poèmes de sa composition, qu’il dépose comme un cadeau sur la musique. Ces vers, au premier abord sans logique, sont pourtant de véritables bijoux de rythme.

C’est à cet instant que je réalise que Steve Kuhn était un musicien hors champ, un outsider qui exprime sa sensibilité par des biais que je n’avais encore jamais rencontrés chez un pianiste.

Le début d'une addiction

Mes recherches me mènent alors rapidement vers un autre de ses albums, sorti un an plus tôt sur le même label (Buddah Records). Désormais incontournable, ce disque éponyme est certainement le plus prisé chez les collectionneurs. Fort heureusement, à l'instant où vous lisez ces lignes, le label Italien Eating Stranding nous propose une réédition deluxe qui paraitra dans quelques semaines.

Nous retrouvons ici Kuhn dans une atmosphère et une approche similaire à son live. Sa voix vient accompagner un jeu puissant, qui frôle la transe par moment, brodé de poésie, de lyrisme et de mélancolie. Une œuvre qui pour moi reflète au mieux l’âme complexe du pianiste.

Pochette de l'album Steve Kuhn

Pochette de l'album "Steve Kuhn", 1971 - Voir les crédits >

Dans cet album, le percussionniste Airto Morreira ne manque pas à l’appel : il apporte un mysticisme certain au projet, une dimension unique. Le quartet de cordes qui accompagne les musiciens est également un pilier majeur de l’enregistrement : il apparait ici en tant qu’hommage au compositeur et arrangeur Garry McFarland, décédé la même année et avec qui Kuhn enregistra quelques années auparavant.

Son album "The October Suite"

Car en effet, avant de s’aventurer dans les méandres du free-jazz, Steve Kuhn voyagea dans le vaste monde de la musique classique, dont il est issu avant tout. Il fut même à l’origine de la création de la « Virtuoso Serie » sur le légendaire label Impulse Records en 1967.

Steve Kuhn pochette

Pochette de l'album "The october Suite", 1967 - Voir les crédits >

Il en restera cependant le seul signataire. Cette unique tentative de la maison de disque à mêler jazz et éléments classiques donna naissance à l’un des disques les plus iconiques jamais produits par le label (à mon humble avis). C’est avec une approche bien plus élégante et standard qu’on y retrouve notre pianiste... bien qu’on distingue déjà le potentiel du jeune prodige alors âgé de 28 ans ! Un romantisme certain, exprimé à sa manière sur une base modale unique (et parfois soudainement libérée), qu’il arrive à fusionner avec brio aux compositions de McFarland.

Un disque qui résonne encore aujourd’hui, tant par sa complexité que sa modernité, et qui ne peut être ignoré d'aucun amateur de jazz.

La révélation : Watch What Happens !

Avançons maintenant d’une année dans sa discographie. Nous sommes toujours en 1967 : Kuhn vit alors à Stockholm et enregistre quasiment d’une traite un nouveau projet nommé "Watch What Happens !", cette fois ci avec une formation trio.

Steve Kuhn pochette

Pochette de l'album "Watch what happens !"  (réédition japonaise de 2016) - Voir les crédits >

Cette formation lui permet d’exprimer toute la force de son instrument. Il s’impose ici avec un jeu de soliste qui le place dans la catégorie des musiciens les plus sensibles de sa génération, non loin de son confrère Bill Evans.

Bien que plus classique dans son ensemble, l’album est un bijou d'inventivité qui ne peut laisser indifférent l'auditeur qui rencontre la première fois le pianiste. Il est le facteur révélateur de la précision dont Kuhn sait faire preuve à tout instant. Il est annonciateur de ce que l'artiste deviendra : un soliste de renom qui, malgré un jeu des moins conventionnel,  n'en reste pas moins accessible à la plus large audience.

Toujours plus loin, toujours plus haut, toujours plus grand

Une grande partie de la discographie de Steve Kuhn fut produite sur le label ECM Records. On notera notamment son album « Trance » paru chez la fameuse maison allemande.

Manfred Eicher, son producteur de l’époque, l’aidera à faire murir son univers sonore et le poussera alors vers un public plus large. Cette maturité le mènera même à enregistrer avec différentes voix telles que celle de Karin Krog (avec qui il partagera ses poèmes et compositions). Ils dépassent ensemble les frontières du genre et nous font goûter à l’underground bien gardé du jazz européen des années 70.

Pochette de l'album Trance

Pochette de l'album "Trance", 1975 - Voir les crédits >

Steve Kuhn ne cessera jamais au fil des années de développer le son qu'on assimile à son nom. En l'écoutant au fil de ses formations diverses et variées, vous ne pourrez pas manquer la force indéniable que ce musicien exerce sur ses confrères  : vraisemblablement un trait commun aux plus grands noms du Jazz.

L’histoire de Steve Kuhn continue encore aujourd’hui : il se produit régulièrement en public, le plus souvent en trio (formation où il excelle et où il est le plus à même d’exprimer son art). Si vous voyez un jour son nom en tête d’affiche, il est impératif et non-négociable de vous procurer un ticket.

Laissez vous porter par la musique de Stephen, qui résonna un jour en moi comme l’une des plus belles révélations que la musique ait pu m’offrir à ce jour.

Curieux ?
Ces disques vont vous plaire

plexus stories

blog

Tu veux écrire pour Plexus ?
Envoie-nous ton projet d'article !

Paiement sécurisé

Livraison en 24/48h

gratuite en France dès 100€ d'achat*

-5% réduction newsletter

abonnez-vous et recevez un code promo de bienvenue

Service client direct

au 05 49 30 41 22

CLICK-AND-COLLECT

(RETRAIT À LA BOUTIQUE)